top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefaniii

We speak networking w celebrity shooter Joshua Garcia


From working with Joe Moses to Nipsey Hussle, to shooting Saweetie, Joshua Garcia takes us on his typical day as a celebrity shooter...


Snoop being Snoop, shot by Joshua Garcia


Can you please give us a brief backstory about who you are and what you do?

I’m a photographer from the LA Area and I also own a small clothing brand called “Separate Section”.


What’s a typical day like for you?

A typical day for me would be to check all my social media platforms/ email to see which bookings I have going on then draw up a couple designs I might have in mind after that I always look for new talent coming up… one of my upcoming goals I have is to become an A&R so always looking for dope new artists to work with.


What got you inspired to begin photography and why photography?

Music… I’ve always been a big fan of music so being able to capture some of my favorite artists that I grew up listening to and be apart of the big picture is what inspired me, and photography is just how I figured Id get my foot in the door I love taking pics just for fun so why not do it to work with some of my favorite artists.


How long have you been freelancing with photography?

I first got my first camera about 3 years ago and really doing it about 2 years.


How did you end up shooting with different celebrities?

Just networking like crazy around the LA area then I had reached out to a rapper Joe Moses and he really helped me grow and introduced me to a lot of dope people and kept pushing from there… but always networking and finding a way to get into the next shoot is key.


What is the one tip you have for people trying to get into the industry?

I would say make sure it’s what you really love to do and what you’re passionate about because there’s a lot more downs than ups when you first start.


Also, what has been the hardest set back and how do you recover from that?

Man there's so many aha but the hardest set back is I had saved some money to drop my next collection and somebody stole about $2,000 from us and yea set us back so much.


What was your favorite shoot to date?

I have a couple but top shoot would be the first day I worked with Joe he really showed me how to move and a different side of the industry… most artists will try to use you for the day and you’ll never hear back he really put me on the team and gave me advice… after that would be when I shot Saweetie, shes so dope her vibe was just hella cool.


What do you enjoy most about working in a creative industry?

I really enjoy how you can be yourself… I’ve worked in corporate jobs before and hated how everybody is so fake when one of their bosses walks in, in this industry you can be yourself and express how you feel and eventually make a living off of it.


In this day + age, we tend to hear a lot of people in the industry having depression and falling off quickly,do you have any tips for when you have a bad day or you’re just feeling too overwhelmed?

I would say always look at everything half full rather than half up and if you’re having a bad day just step back and be thankful for everything you have around you… I always say a prayer to God and just look back at all my accomplishments and say there will be more in the future just stay with it.

Nipsey Hussle preforming in Los Angeles, shot by Joshua Garcia

6 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page