top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefaniii

From East Coast to West Coast, we speak to indie rapper NOETIC...

Indie rapper Noetic about his move to L.A, music, and more

Rapper Noetic on set of his music video

How did your name come about?

At first my name was Prime minister lol.. yea i know type weak and shit but i use to read the dictionary when i first started writing and then i found the word Noetic. I was thinking on the Poetic side but i just put a “N” on it and looked at the definition of the word and said “ That’s all me”.

How long have you been rapping for?

I’ve been freestyling since like 7th grade. I started out djing in 6th grade so it just flourished from that. First record i wrote an actual song to was Shyheim “Shit iz Real”.. i still remember it was called “When I die”.

I know you’re from the east coast, tell us your motivation to come out here to L.A

I felt it was a great opportunity to start over with a new vision musically. The 3 years prior I was in the DMV and i just needed more to learn in the business and build a better network of creatives.

How do you find time to do music + work + still be a great father?

I have a great support system so it makes possible for me to sharpen my craft and be where i need to be as well for networking. It gets tough sometimes tho, it’s definitely not an easy task you know.

Tell us about the inspiration behind your latest project

LONESOME was strictly inspired by my move to California, making a shift like that in your life can be a very lonely process just mentally for yourself. So I had to find a new me with this project and dig deep into my thoughts on another level.



What can we expect from you this year?

I'm dropping a few EP’s and doing a bunch of collaborations , up next will be the “No regrets,All events” project.

What makes you a great artist?

My lyrical talent and capability of out rapping anybody that steps on the track. But honestly my content is something that  will be studied one day.

Who are your biggest influences?

Biggie, A.Z., Rakim, Jadakiss,My father Kid Nice, Krs-One, Ice Cube and Jayz with a splash of Redman.

What makes you marketable?

My intelligence, honesty and style. It’s different and something thats missing.

Do you ever see yourself playing at a show like Rolling Loud? If not, what would be your ideal festival to break out + establish yourself as an artist?

Yea i definitely would, Dusse Palooza is all i need. Thats my type of crowd.


Can you weigh in on why it’s important to create music you believe in regardless of what bumps on the radio?

Its the only way I could feel honesty with myself. 

Anything else you’d like to tell us about yourself/ your music?

Yea, make sure download and stream Noetic- LONESOME album asap, and follow me on all networks.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page